Science & Technology

Channels: Science & Technology | Financial Markets | Artificial Intelligence | Blockchain

IISc, IIT professors among 6 winners of Infosys Science Prize

[2019.11.08, Fri 02:03] Bengaluru, Nov 7 : Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, Professor G. Mugesh has been named as among the six winners of the Infosys Science Prize 2019 in Physical Sciences for his seminal work in the chemical synthesis of small molecules and nano-materials for bio-medical applications, the software major said on Thursday. Among the other winners are Indian Institute of Technology - Bombay computer science and engineering chair professor Sunita Sarawagi for her research in databases, data mining, machine learning and natural language processing, which led to important applications. IIT-Mandi School of Humanities and Social Sciences assistant professor Manu V. Devadevan received the award for his original and wide ranging work on pre-modern South India. Hyderabad-based Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology's chief scientist Manjula Reddy won the prize under life sciences category for her ground breaking discoveries on the structure of bacteria cell walls. "His writing pushes the boundaries of how anthropologists render into words the worlds they encounter. His work breaks new ground," said the ISF. The Infosys prize carries a gold medal, citation and a purse of $100,000 which is the equivalent of Rs 71 lakh, the company said in a statement. On the 11th edition of the prize, ISF president S.D. Shibulal said "The Infosys prize continues to recognize exemplary work in scientific research and enquiry. Many Infosys Prize laureates have gone on to contribute significantly." Set up in 2009 as a not-for-profit organisation by Infosys co-founders N.R. Narayana Murthy, Nanda Nilekani, S. Gopalakrishnan, S.D. Shibulal and Dinesh, the Foundation promotes interest in science and research in the country.
Read on New Kerala >   Google the news >>

<< Back

(c) 2019 Geo Glance